2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 6, 2018 11:11 AM by Vamsi Challa

What a Tableau developer does ?

Sanjay  Sudhakar

Hello Folks,

I am new to the IT industry and to Tableau forum. While I was exploring options to find a career for myself in IT, I figured out that I enjoy statistics and data visualization and eventually most people suggested me to learn Tableau. So I availed the student account since I am a student of IT project management.

Although my coursework involves mostly on the business and management side, I want myself to dwell into the technical side. So I started taking additional courses like SQL and Data Warehousing where I have started on the basics of SQL and Data warehousing.

I wanted to take the developer route. Hence, I have also started learning HTML5, CSS, JavaScript. My questions are

1. Am I on the right track to become a BI developer?

2. If someone throws a light on what a Tableau developer / BI developer does as part of his job from a high level, it would be of a great help to get insights about the job.

3. What are the areas that I should concentrate and learn in Tableau from Developer perspective apart from playing around with the sheets, workbooks, and Dashboards in Tableau interface?

Thanks,

Sanjay

• 1. Re: What a Tableau developer does ?
          patrick.byrne.0

Hello Sanjay,

A good place to start would be to review the Job Listings (Job Listings ) group in the Tableau Community. This will give perspective of what people are looking for in their Tableau Developeers.

I am sure there are more people in this amazing community with some better experience with landing a BI job, but this is where I would start.

Cheers,

Byrne, Patrick

• 2. Re: What a Tableau developer does ?
            Vamsi Challa

Hi Sanjay,

Its a Good start. Data Analytics plays very important role in every business and market.

1. Am I on the right track to become a BI developer?

Yes