11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 30, 2018 10:14 AM by Aaron Sheldon

Calculating ADC in Tableau Server Professional Edition 10.5.2

Elona Sharbaugh

I am new to Tableau so any help will be greatly appreciated.  I am trying to calculate average daily census using patient days for each month.  I have a formula that is driven by the discharge date which is more discharge days instead of the patient days for the month.  My data is at the encounter level and includes admit date, discharge date and length of stay.  The data has multiple hospitals that are identified by facility ID.  The ADC for the month can't be driven by admit or discharge date so I am not sure how to calculate it since those are my only date fields.  I am sure others have encountered this scenario.  Please share any feedback.

Thanks for your help. Elona

• 1. Re: Calculating ADC in Tableau Server Professional Edition 10.5.2
          swaroop.gantela

Elona,

Welcome to the Forums.

This is similar to the Utilization Problem.

Here is a link that may be helpful:

CROSS JOIN with Tableau's join dialog

If it will work for your setup, you can cross join your dataset to a single column of all the possible days.

Then you can filter just to the pertinent values using:

[admissiondate]<=lookup date

and

[dischargedate]>=lookup date

the lookup date will be on your axis.

here are further links

Utilization, Queues, Census, Throughput for Blocks, Floors, Units, Rooms, Offices, etc. - What do you do?

Vizible Difference: Taking Stock with Start and End Dates

https://redheadedstepdata.io/lookup-vs-transactional/?content=Reference%20Post

• 2. Re: Calculating ADC in Tableau Server Professional Edition 10.5.2
            Aaron Sheldon

The answer depends on the volume of data you need to process and the average length of stay. There are three possible solutions that all involve joining to a secondary table, but each one comes with a different computational overhead.