5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 22, 2018 7:54 AM by Don Wise

Multiple Pivots and duplicate data

Shai Rosenzvit

Hi, I am new to Tableau, and so is the company I work for. The company has gaming terminals in different regions and lots of sales points.

I have an excel file, which gets updated daily and a new sheet (for the new month) is added monthly, in which I have the following columns in each sheet:

• Region
      • Sales point
      • Amount of terminals we have
      • Amount of terminals the competition has
      • Daily revenue (a column for each day)
      • Projected revenue for the month
      • Last month revenue
      • Current month profit
      • Competition revenue for the last 5 months (one month per column)
      • Competition profit for the last 5 months (one month per column)

I am trying to analyze trends over time for our sales vs the competition sales in different regions, the competition profit over time in X region, our margin over time in a specific sales point, etc.

I´ve tried doing a Union of the different sheets, then branching, pivoting competition revenue in one branch and competition profit on the other one and then doing a join, but I get inaccurate and duplicate data, the dates get messed up, etc. For example, if I try to see terminals in each sales point over time, I get 20 times more than we actually have, and consistent over time even if this has changed. ¿How should I clean and organize the data to be able to analyze it properly?

I am attaching a screenshot of the flow I tried using in Tableau Prep and an annonymized workbook with no analysis so you can see how the data is structured. I don´t know if I should attach any more info (the original excel file for example), I am new to Tableau and data analysis, so I am a bit confused and overwhelmed by all of this.

Thank you very much in advance for your help

Cheers

P.S. I am using Tableau Desktop Professional 2018.1.0 and Tableau Prep 2018.1.1