1 2 Previous Next 23 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2018 9:46 AM by Justin Jarmon

Date Filters, Calculations and Parameters

Justin Jarmon

Hello all:

I am fairly new at Tableau, so please excuse my lack of knowledge.

I am creating a dashboard for the Customer Service department of my organization and have date issues. Here's my issue:

Our department would like the representatives to have two different options for selecting dates.

1. Date Range - parameter that allows them to choose specific ranges. (i.e., Most Recent Week, Last 4 Weeks, and Last 52 Weeks)

i. I have a Time Filter formula that shows/hide to work with a date filter I have in place. (Please see the attached)

2. Date Filter - This is the filter that pulls up like a calendar.

Questions that I have:

1. Is it possible for the two filters to work together? Meaning, if I were to select last week in the "date range" the date filter would reflect the dates.

Our data for this particular dashboard updates on Thursday evenings and with new data available on Friday.

Is it possible to always reflect the last two weeks of data between Monday through Thursday, and on Friday reflect the most recent week of data?

If this is confusing let me help you out. This is a bonus structure to reward our employees that perform well on a weekly basis. They are paid two weeks in arrears which means data for them to view will be two weeks in arrears until Friday.

Example: This week's data is reflecting the week of 6/4/2018. On Friday it will reflect the week of 6/11/2018. As of now, I manually update my time filter calculation for the "most recent week" to change between 1 or 2 depending on the date.

PLEASE HELP!!!!

• 1. Re: Date Filters, Calculations and Parameters
          Joe Oppelt

Your question is very broad.

The short answer is YES.  You can do all those things.  But I suspect you don't mean to ask just that yes/no question.