11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 12, 2018 7:07 PM by lei.chen.0

Confused with dataset.. how to explore what exactly to visualise?

Izzie Cosgrove

Hi all,

Using Tableau Desktop 10.5 with this dataset regarding the upcoming congressional election (attached). It is actually for a job interview this week!

I'm quite new to Tableau (the job I'm interviewing for trains you up so you aren't initially expected to be knowledgeable on the software) and I'm used to excel. The data I've worked with before has been quite simple to understand as I've always manually analysed aspects of it through excel. This dataset I have to use is a bit more confusing and I can't seem to find many insights with it through Tableau. I'm wondering if there is a way Tableau can suggest trends or if there are any tutorials oriented to understanding the data?

So far from this dataset I have visualised the date and the % of those answering the polls preferring Democrat/Republican and have noticed that likely voters are closer to voting rep than any other population yet have the smallest sample size by far - which I will use in the interview - but I feel like I'm waiting the data if I don't include some of the other columns, not sure what grade, influence or weight refers to and couldn't seem to find any trends regarding those but I am just concerned that I'm missing something?

Secondly, I would like to change the 'weekly preference' worksheet so that instead of the date on the axis it reads as "days until the election" and has however many days until Nov 6th 2018.

Apologies there are a lot of sheets in the workbook as I've been experimenting... any help would be amazing

Thanks!

Izzie

• 1. Re: Confused with dataset.. how to explore what exactly to visualise?
          sudheer.kumar.5

Hello Izzie,

Can't open the .TWBX file, it has a connection to the server.

S

• 2. Re: Confused with dataset.. how to explore what exactly to visualise?
            Izzie Cosgrove