6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2018 3:41 PM by Man Tsui

Benchmarking Options

Jason Leadbetter

Hello All,

We use Athena for our HMS.  Athena has Azara as a reporting/analytics integration partner.   The one neat feature Azara has, is the abilty to benchmark against other healthcare groups.   Is this something that is possible with Tableau or the Tableau Health Community?

-Jason

• 1. Re: Benchmarking Options
          Cody McKinney

Good luck Jason with getting Athena to help with Tableau.  I have been working with them for about three months to try to access our data.  We are creating some dashboards from exported spreadsheet reports from Athena, but nothing that is automated.  We also have our data warehouse feed that allows us access to tons of .csv files for dashboard creation, but we are trying to develop a SQL data warehouse for that information.  Finally, I have tried to get Athena to explain how to connect to their API structure so I can access "live" data, but that is not accomplished yet.

As for comparing against other practices, I'm not sure they will allow you to extract that information.  Athena is now providing us a report where they compare our health center (FQHC) vs. only other health centers, but that is their report we get from our account manager.

Last, I do know that Athena has adopted Tableau as an internal reporting tool for them, and I have seen a couple of reports that I instantly recognized as Tableau.  Hoping they get comfortable with how to allow their customers more access to the data so we can work more fluidly with Tableau.

All that being said, I am just a CFO with no data management/analyst background, so maybe there is more that can be done with all the data than I realize, but it has been frustrating getting Athena to work with this for me.

• 2. Re: Benchmarking Options
            Eric Liong

Hi Jason,