6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 17, 2018 6:05 PM by Grace Raj

Actual vs Budget Comparision

Kailash Negi

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie to tableau and am sorry if the questions sounds like dumb. Actually I am trying compare Actual vs Budget in tableau, for this I have created a side by side bar graph which shows Actual and Budget side by side for each year however I also want to show the variance% on top of this bar graph as a line chart.

I have attached the packaged workbook here and my tableau version is 10.0.5. Could you guys please help?

I would also appreciate if someone can suggest a better way to visualize this.

Thanks!!

• 1. Re: Actual vs Budget Comparision
          Wesley Magee

Kailash,

You could try a layout like this:

This is a dual axis chart. I created a variance calculation that looks like this:

(SUM([Actual]) - SUM([Budget])) / SUM([Budget])

I also created a calculation to color the bars whether they are above or below budget that looks like this:

IF [Budget Variance] > 0 THEN "Exceeded Budget"

ELSE "Below Budget"

END

Let me know if any of this doesn't make sense.

-Wesley

• 2. Re: Actual vs Budget Comparision
            Bryce Larsen

Hello! Quite similar to the above, I colored each bar based on performance vs budget (outperforming, underperforming, and no budget are blue, orange, and gray, respectively). Budget is shown as a Gantt bar. I chose this over using a reference line due to the simple fact that you can't customize tooltips on the reference line.

I bolded the performance (Actual) and then placed a colored arrow above each bar with the variance %. I looked into doing the variance trend line as you mentioned, but a lot of the time the variance was a negative number, so this made it a bit difficult to graph on top of the bars if doing dual axis.