9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2018 7:17 AM by Alix ROTH

Sales Bucket by customer

Alix ROTH

Hi all,

I'm new to Tableau and facing my first issue. I hope someone can help me

I'm creating a report and I would like to be able to filter my sales by customer bucket on all the views

This would help drive conclusion such as:
      -> In every Regions, the sales from small customers (= customer from the lowest bucket) are increasing compared to prior year.

It means that  I would need to have a flexible aggregation of the sales to the customer level, that change depending on the filters I apply or the view I display.

What I have done currently is :

1. Measure "SALES FIXED CUST" :

{ FIXED [Customer]:SUM([Sales])}

2. Dimension:

IF [SALES FIXED CUST]< 50 THEN "Less Than 50"

ELSEIF [SALES FIXED CUST] <= 100 THEN "Bt 50 - 100"

ELSEIF [SALES FIXED CUST] <= 500 THEN "Bt 100 - 500"

ELSEIF [SALES FIXED CUST]<=1000 THEN "Bt 500 - 1000"

ELSEIF [SALES FIXED CUST] > 1000 THEN "Greater than 1000"

END

It works if I display the measure without any filter, but I want to choose the sales of period, it's wrong. If I add the period to the {FIXED} formula, on a full year it's wrong. Same by Region, Product etc...

I'm attaching a workbook with what I've done so far.

Could someone help me with that?

Thanks,

Alix

• 1. Re: Sales Bucket by customer
          Simon Runc

hi Alix,

Welcome to Tableau and the Community!

So firstly you have attached a .tbw and not a .twbx (so I can't access the data). If you package it up, and re-attach we can take a look.