4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 7, 2018 5:53 AM by Matthew Yandell-Thomas

Vector file - Field names are dates

Matthew Yandell-Thomas

Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to Tableau and wondered if someone could help with a problem I'm experiencing.

I have a vector file which contains field names based on dates and the values within these fields are floats. I'm trying to plot a line graph of each feature to show change over time. However, it's plotting each value an equal distance apart as opposed to accurately plotting each to it's date range.

Here's an example dashboard and plot that I created during the trial period:

ExampleDashboard.PNG

ExamplePlot.PNG

In this example there is no February or July but the points are same space apart.

Here is an example of the current data I'm working with:

ExampleData.PNG

I changed the field names to be entirely in a date format instead of including any other strings like the last example. The date format is in yyyymmdd.

Is there anything I can do to make Tableau recognise that these field names are supposed to be dates?

Also, it's currently summing the measure values together. Is it possible to have each individual feature displayed as opposed to grouping everything on the same date together? Or should I ask that as a different question?

Thanks in advance,

Matthew

• 1. Re: Vector file - Field names are dates
          Mavis Liu

Hi Matthew,

Tableau isn't recognising these as dates because each of those 'dates' is a type of measure. The data needs to be pivoted and restructured so that Tableau can read it in the way it needs to. Essentially if you have data like this:

2018-06-07_12h20_20.png

You need to do a shift/control to highlight those year columns and right click to select pivot:

2018-06-07_12h20_38.png

So that you end up with a column for dates:

2018-06-07_12h21_46.png