3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2018 5:27 AM by Lasse Husman

Why is nested LOD calc resulting in related calculated fields to move from dimension pane to measures pane?

Lasse Husman

Hi community.

I am new to tableau but feel i have come off in good manor, despite I as most have to learn how to think differently when coming from an Excel / Power BI environment, so hope that this question still have some meat on the bone for some to help a Fellow tableau-learner.

The short version:

When I use a nested LOD expression in the dimension pane, it results in some other calculated fields in the dimension pane which referes to the nested LOD calc to move from the dimension pane to the measure pane with an added (Count) in the label and an '=ABC' icon in the front. This despite both dimensions returns text-labels and data type is strings.

Why is this happening and what can I do to solve this issue (last if most likely not simple to answer based on given input) :-)

For those that ask the for details he comes

The long version:

I am creating an automated invoice checker based on CSV-based invoices provided by the Courier.

data is structured with a line per invoice charge element resulting in a tracking number defining a shipment will have multiple rows. So 1 row for Freight charge ([Charge description code] = FRT), 1 row for Fuel surcharge (FSC), 1 row for tax etc.

FSC is a % of FRT value but differs between shipmenttype 'air' or 'ground'.

Logic for air/ground is based on used service type that Only is defined in rows with FRT, but same column holds other values for FSC, TAX rows etc.

So In order to get a calculated column called [Service] that repeats the result of a logic check for FRT cols I wrap the logic in Fixed LOD that Only look at [Tracking No] and [Charge Classification Code]='FRT', and then wrap that Again in an Exclude LOD that excludes the same [Charge Classification Code] to return the result from the inner LOD into all rows with same tracking number.