5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 12, 2018 12:16 AM by Nicole Edmonds

"Collation mismatch" Error? But where?

Joe Proulx

This is my first time using Prep, as I wasn't involved in any of the betas.

My flow went together without much issue, and I really like the tool so far. My very last Clean step shows a perfect data set, but when I go to run an Output step, I get this error:

Capture.PNG

I am using three Oracle database tables and one Excel file as inputs (the Excel file is a scaffolding file). Again, everything works fine, it just fails during the processing of the flow. It gives no indication of where in the flow the error is. Has anyone seen this?

• 1. Re: "Collation mismatch" Error? But where?
          Brian Goddard

I'm getting the same thing; I've actually been playing around with Tableau Prep a decent amount since it came out, but this is the first time I've encountered this. The data looks totally fine but then I got this collation error.

For me it seemed to show up when I'm added an aggregation near the end of my flow (I added a bunch of outputs, and every output before the aggregation worked fine and every output after the aggregation failed), though I've done aggregations in other flows without any issues.

Have you been able to isolate where the issue might be stemming from in your flow?

• 2. Re: "Collation mismatch" Error? But where?
            Isaac Kunen

Hi Joe (and Brian),

Ach! The dreaded collation mismatch!

The reason you're seeing this at runtime, but not while you're building your flow, has to do with the fact that we execute things quite differently in each situation. In building (interactive) mode, we're pulling data into Hyper (and using and ICU collation) for each input. When you run the flow (batch mode), we're trying to push as much as possible down into Oracle, and we're clearly making an error with the collations.