4 Replies Latest reply on May 8, 2018 10:39 PM by Dave Scott

Actions and Secondary Data Sources / Asterisks in Secondary Data Source

Dave Scott

I'm new to tableau, and this is my first real attempt to use it for something, as the limitations with Excel are just getting to be a bit too time consuming to work around. I've built a working version in Excel using VBA and SQL, but the reporting side doesn't look great and is a pain to use.

Tableau fixes so many of those issues, but things I was able to do in Excel with VBA/SQL I now just can't do in Tableau. I keep hitting limitations and hurdles with Tableau, finding a work around, just to smack into a new limitation or hurdle. Most of it has to do with multiple data sources and filtering.

I'm trying to analyze a reasonably large data set, I'm then planning on distributing the readonly in reader to a few people  who can drill through the data set. The idea is to take a global set of groups, then based on some flags or general quantity of values within those groups, narrow them down to a handful of groups, selecting each one that interested in and get a more detailed report for that single group.

The groups are made up of individual ID numbers, these ID numbers need to be put into a single group. This grouping however is imprecise and a bit subjective. So I want the user to be able to regroup the IDs if required. Maybe even keep their preference of groupings on file somewhere.

Site number is Unique and will only be in 1 group.

AutoGroup

ManualGroup

Site Number

GroupA

GroupA

GroupB

GroupA

GroupB

GroupB

GroupF

GroupA

GroupC

GroupC

As reader can't use Live data sources, and there's no way of letting the user change the data in the reader. I've written a little excel tool to swap the data out in the exported tabeau file. This only works on non-joined data, soon as join it it's converted to tableau file format and won't work.