5 Replies Latest reply on May 7, 2018 3:48 AM by kumar bharat

Tableau limits and troubles

Simone Montrucchio

Hi I'm pretty new to Tableau and I will try to explain you all.

I have a JSON file with a data schema:

• Level 1, each entry is a paragraph of a long text (book).
      • Level 2 (of each paragraph) can contain the comments of the users to that paragraph (each comment has a sub level containing the user’s info)
      • Leve 3 (of each comment) can contain the answers of the users to that comment (each answer has a sub level containing the user’s info)

I cannot change how data are stored in the json, I just receive it and I have to visualize data.

Both comments and answers are considered “twylls” (a funny name like tweet).

I need to create a report to show to the clients how much impact had the project/game on that book.

So, I try to explain my problems:

1. In a sheet I can visualize the Number of Record for comments and the Number of records for answers. Anyway, if I put these values into 2 parameters in order to use them in the dashboard (the report I will provide), those values are ZERO (even if the two measures in the sheet display a real value.
      2. I simply want to create sheet with a pie chart containing the Number of Record for comments and the Number of records for answers, the total number (as caption or title), the percentage, ecc. It looks impossible to do such a siple task (show a pie chart containing 2 numbers) because it wants a dimension (they are simply numbers, what dimensioni s needed?).
      3. Not being able to use parameters, I cannot even do calculations and show them in the dashboard. Simple example: I have 160 comments and 40 answers, I would like to show that people wrote 80% of comments and 20% of answers, that the conversion rate of each commenti is 25% (40 / 160 * 100) so that 1 answer every 4 comments.