2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2018 1:53 PM by Charlien Berghen

Patient record timeline

Charlien Berghen

Hi everyone,

I'm looking for a way to make a patient record timeline, that should look somewhat like this:

Inhibiting MEK in MAPK pathway activated... (PDF Download Available)

But in a completely different setting/with my own data. But this concept of presentation is what I want to do with my data.

Can I do this with Tableau and how do I best get started?

I am completely new in the field of graphic presentations and only worked a little with excel before.

Thank you in advance!!

• 1. Re: Patient record timeline
          Eric Hammond

Hi Charlien,

Consider a stacked bar chart on its side.  The researchers were fortunate in that the sequence is always the same (multi-agent always follows single agent), no therapies repeat, and there were no breaks between therapies for any patient.  You will need a calculated field to determine days, and charting that instead of dates will align the various starts for easy comparison.  Negative values for days are used to achieve the "before day zero" part of the chart.

To add milestones, drag the another measure based on days to the columns shelf (it can even be the same field).  Right-click on the resulting pill in the columns shelf and choose "dual axis".  Then right-click on the top axis in the chart and choose "synchronize axis".  On the Marks shelf for this second measure, choose "Shape" (instead of bar), and select desired fields to be used color and shape.