7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2018 8:30 AM by prav.kum

Bursting a dashboard to create user specific PDFs for 100k users

prav.kum

Dear All

I am new to Tableau. Request your help in solving below scenario.

We have a requirement to create a dashboard to show user details like demographics, dependents, purchase history, suggestions (each from one data source) for each user and save it as a PDF. We have 100k+ users. User id values are stored in a column. I used to handle these type of requirements using bursting in Cognos but the number of outputs were less than 20k.

My plan:

1. Create one worksheet for each data source (user demographics, dependents, purchase history, suggestions) with appropriate filters and add them to the final dashboard.

2. Filter those worksheets each time with an user id to generate custom content in Dashboard.

3. Save it as PDF.

I have below questions running in my mind.

1. Firstly, is bursting possible in Tableau ?

2. Does Tableau have a mechanism to filter a query each time with a different user id ?

3. Even if it does, can Tableau handle the load of filtering queries with multiple id's, saving the outputs to PDF simultaneously for 100k+ users?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Regards

Prav

• 1. Re: Bursting a dashboard to create user specific PDFs for 100k users
          Toby Erkson

Over 100,000 users to email reports to?!  Holy cow, that's almost unbelievable nowadays given modern BI toolsets   It would be far better in so many aspects to have the user come to the report as needed at a Tableau Server.  They could then manipulate it (filters, parameters), un/subscribe to it, save their own personal view of it, and edit it (add/remove fields, change the chart type, etc.) if given permission.  It could be filtered automatically by who is viewing it since you have a table of user IDs.