6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 22, 2018 11:28 PM by Paula Roigés

Visualization problems with PostgreSQL DB

Paula Roigés

Hello,

I'm a beginner working with Tableau (please bear it in mind). I have done a connection to a real-time DB through PostgreSQL and my objective is to visualize the daily and monthly changes of different categories, showing the count of each them.

db18.png

Above, you could see a screenshot of the DB, which shows 8 new rows for April 18th, 2018. Having that, what I expected to see at the following graph (I don't know if you see it, sorry!) is a count per day for each category. Instead, what I can visualize is a rare counting, per instance, "Marketing digital" -Digital marketing-, as user id 9342, has 30 counted records on April 18th, which is impossible, because the DB only have 8 new records. What am I doing wrong here?

viz1.png

The other issue that I am encountering is here when there is no record, I expected the line to drop down to 0, instead, it disappears, leaving a blank gap. How can I solve it?

problemviz2.png

Thank you so much in advance!

------

Tableau Desktop Professional Edition 10.5.2

• 1. Re: Visualization problems with PostgreSQL DB
          Mark Holtz

I've run into problems with PostgreSQL and the Timestamp with Time Zone Offset data type.

If I recall correctly, Tableau doesn't recognize the "conversion" of date-times by their time zone offsets, and so it is representing all of your timestamps as UTC (thus advancing the timestamps by a number of hours if you are in a UTC - timezone).

If you create a calculated field as DATEADD('hour',-5,[createdAt]) inside Tableau, I think it'll adjust things correctly. (I guess at your time zone, but use -# for however many hours you need to. UTC -5 is Central Time US, I think, I can never remember with the darn Daylight Savings).

• 2. Re: Visualization problems with PostgreSQL DB
            Paula Roigés

Hi Mark,