3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 16, 2018 7:56 AM by Okechukwu Ossai

Profit & Loss Statement Calculated Field Year to Date Calculation

David Luhut

Hello,

I am new to Tableau so please be patient with me.

Also, I can't share the workbook because my data is directly 'linked' to SAPBW backend. Therefore, my data contains sensitive data.

What I am trying to do here is to create a P&L statement and I understand that Tableau is more of a visual tool rather than a 'text layout' purposes.

After many trial and errors, I was able to replicate the P&L Statements just as how I was able to create in PowerPivot. For example, having the 'Operating Income' and 'Building Income' (shown below in green).

Also, due to Accounting thingy, anything that's negative number is actually "good" and anything that's positive is actually "bad". And since users like to see everything in 'positive' numbers, I create a CASE statement that reverse the sign when it's 'Revenue', 'Operating Income', 'Building Income' etc, and leave the Expense side as is, reflecting the PnL Header Categories.

MTD Actual:=

CASE ATTR([PnL Header])

WHEN "Revenue"

THEN -SUM([Local Actual])

WHEN  "Operating Income"

WHEN  "Building Income"

WHEN  "Net Income (Loss)"

ELSE SUM([Local Actual])

END

where [Local Acutal] comes from the SAPBW column itself.

My problem now is the YTD calculation. Somehow it always calculate from Jan to Dec, instead of Jan to User selected month (Shown below in red).

For example, if I were to select 'Oct' on the 'Month' filter, the YTD Actual and YTD Budget stays the same (shown in red).

I have tried changing different LOD statements, and I am still not able to get the correct result.

Below is what I have for my YTD Actual calculation.

YTD Actual:=

{ FIXED [PnL Header], [SubHeader], [Lower SubHeader], [Fiscal Year], [Ownership], [City], [Entity] :

SUM(IF [Calc YTD Actual] = TRUE AND

([PnL Header] = "Revenue" OR

[PnL Header] = "Operating Income" OR