5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2018 5:51 AM by Scott Buckley

Best way to update a .tds file?

Scott Buckley

I am new to using .tds files and have a question.  A primary benefit of a .tds files is the ability to share a datasource (a .tde file in this case) containing calculated fields, groups, etc. among multiple workbooks and users.  The question I have is about updating the .tds file in workbooks that connect to it.  For example, let's say I want to create a new group (based on a dimension) and have all workbooks that connect to the .tds file recognize this newly created group.  One way I have been able to accomplish this is to do the following:

1) create the new group then overwrite the .tds file.

2) open another workbook that connects to the original .tds file (when opening this other workbook, the newly created group in step 1 is not automatically recognized)

3) add a new data source and connect to the updated .tds file

4) using the Replace Data Source option, swap the old .tds file with the newly created .tds file (they have the same name since I simply overwrote the file in step 1).  Now the newly created group is recognized.

So, this works but seems like a clunky process and have a feeling there is a better way.

Can someone help or point me to some documentation that address this?

Thank you!

-Scott

• 1. Re: Best way to update a .tds file?
          Branden Kornell

Are you using Tableau Server or Tableau Desktop?

• 2. Re: Best way to update a .tds file?
            Scott Buckley

We do use Tableau Server but have not so far published any data sources to Server.  Thus, we typically connect to datasources locally.

• 3. Re: Best way to update a .tds file?
              ShivaRam Chennapragada

Scott-

When you're making changes to a tds source file and re-publishing it to server by over writing existing version, any workbook that is developed using that tds should automatically be updated. Here's something I tried to demo the same,