2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 25, 2018 9:54 AM by Jonathan Drummey

Ability to maintain Tableau calculated fields in TDE datasource on Tableau server using Alteryx

Harshit Patel

Hi All,

I am a newbie in using Alteryx to manage our Datasources on Tableau server.

I want an ability to add calculated fields in the published datasource on Tableau server. I do not have an option to add certain type of aggregated fields in Alteryx workflow. Also, I do not want to add calculated fields in Tableau workbook layer as I am trying to centralize these calculation for anyone who will be using this datasource. Below are the steps I am currently performing.

1. Create TDE output from Alteryx workflow and save in a local drive

2. Open tableau desktop and connect to the TDE output generated per Step 1

3. Add necessary calculated fields in Tableau desktop

4. Publish datasource from Tableau desktop to Server (Along with including external files)

5. Schedule workflow in Alteryx to overwrite TDE (created and published per step 1 thru 4) on Tableau server

During step 5 when Alteryx overwrites TDE on Tableau server, it removes all calculated fields that I had added per step 3 above.

Is there anyway I can maintain these calculated fields in the server datasource?

Suggested option from Alteryx right now is that I follow steps 1 to 3 as above but then I create an extract (of an extract) and then publish that extract on to tableau server and put scheduling on Tableau server to refresh that extract. This is ok but it defeats the ability of Alteryx to write TDEs directly on to Tableau server and will require correct sequencing and refreshing at Alteryx as well as Tableau server. They are still looking into other potential options as I am posting it here.

Thanks in advance for some guidance

Harshit.

• 1. Re: Ability to maintain Tableau calculated fields in TDE datasource on Tableau server using Alteryx
          Patrick A Van Der Hyde

Hello Harshit