1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Apr 9, 2018 5:46 PM by Eric Viglotti

Text file data joined to SQL data

Eric Viglotti

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Tableau, and somewhat new to "self service" BI, but very experienced in traditional BI.

One of the more common situations that come up for us that smells more like "self service BI" is the following:

- We have a SQL server with, let's say, 1million customers with order details

- Someone then gives us a text file with a random list of customers, say, 100 to 200 customers, with their customer number that matches their customer number in the SQL database

- They want us to analyze those customers as a cohort or subset

What is the best way to do this? I know that one option is to have two connections, one that is the text file with the customer ID's they want and the other that is direct to SQL with all of the measures and dimensions we might want and join the two together in Tableau.  This is definitely something an end user could do, thus making it "self service", but it becomes incredibly brute force as you end up asking SQL to give you all 1milllion customers, which can take quite awhile, only for Tableau to join it via an inner join leaving only the 100 to 200 that you want. Is there some other way to do this?

I'd love to think that Project Maestro might be able to help by taking the flat file, inserting that into a table in SQL and having the table to table join directly in SQL which would then be lightening fast, but  I don't think the intent of that application is to physically "store" data in SQL.

Is there any other sleek solution I might be overlooking?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Text file data joined to SQL data
          lei.chen.0

Hello Eric,

Good question!

Discussions for use case or scenario are interesting.

You mentioned,

Eric Viglotti wrote:

- We have a SQL server with, let's say, 1million customers with order details