5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 4, 2018 8:31 AM by Anthony Gacayan

can't make SSL certificate work

Anthony Gacayan

Hi

I am new at installing tableau server. We are planning to implement SSL and reverse proxy to our tableau server to be able to access outside our network. we installed the tableau server in a virtual machine and it has a host name "tableauserver1.mydomain.local" which is working fine and accessible inside our network. So i have read that tableau accepts wild card SSL certificates and we do have one which is "*.domain.org" (i know i doing something wrong in this part), so i tried to use it with the tableauserver but it does not work, i think because it has a different domain name. I tried adding a subdomain on our vendor web hosting "tableauserver1.domain.org" but it still does not work. i do not know if i need to change something on the DNS server or anything. Please help!

• 1. Re: can't make SSL certificate work
          Murali Baddela

Hi Anthony,

I have had issues with setting up SSL on out Tableau server hosted on a VM.

But eventually figured out a solution.

I am not too sure about wild card certificates that Tableau can accept.

Having said that.

(1) When you open Tableau after setting up SSL on the VM machine, does Tableau throw a warning/error ?

(2) Does this warning persists when you try open Tableau from your local desktop machine .

If it works for scenario (1) and does not for scenario (2) . Its a certificate issue.

When you enable SSL on the server settings on the Tableau Server VM does the window show a graceful exit. If it does nto I would recommend examining the server logs.

Regards

• 2. Re: can't make SSL certificate work
            Anthony Gacayan

Hi Murali,