8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2018 11:18 AM by Matt Coles

Not receiving an email on a consistent basis

Holly C

Hi,

I am new to both Tableau and VizAlerts.

I have made several Advanced VizAlerts using "Email Action" and "Email To" and am subscribed to it. The issue I have is that on some days, I receive emails properly as supposed to. But on other days, I don't receive an email for the same vizalerts even though I am supposed to (when looking at the worksheet in Tableau Server on the latest refresh extracts). I looked at the refresh schedule time, and the workbooks are being refreshed properly (we see the successful extracts in the admin Status: Background Tasks For Extracts dashboard too).

Is there any reason why for the same VizAlert, sometimes I would have an email and sometimes not? Also, when putting "test_alert" in the comment, I would receive the email for some, and nothing for others.

Can someone lead me as to where the problem is concerning the email issues?

Thank you!

• 1. Re: Not receiving an email on a consistent basis
          Matt Coles

Hi Holly. There are about three possibilities:

1. The email is being sent, but some of them are being filtered by your mailserver because it thinks it is spam. Or send to your Junk folder, or filtered by an email rule, or something.

2. VizAlerts is not "seeing" data in your viz occasionally when it runs--or at least, no records where your Email Action value is 1. This can be due to data issues / latency, or a mismatch on a relative date filter and the schedule you picked for your VizAlert to run on, or filtering issues.

3. The admin did not set up VizAlerts to run consistently every minute, as the documentation instructs.