4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 2, 2018 1:30 PM by Mark Wu

Can I Control Admins Who Can Access A Data Connection and Workbook?

Mike Miller

I am new to Tableau, forgive me as this is prob a very basic question.  I want to upload sensitive information, in this case, payroll data.  I want to completely lock down the data to only the person who set up the data connection.  There are several other system/server admins on our Tableau account who CAN NOT get access to this information.  Can I set up a data connection so that the only person who can access the data is the person who setup the connection?

I read about data security below, but unclear if any of these methods will secure the data to only the HR department payroll person.

• Database login account: When you create a data source that connects to a live database, you choose between authenticating to the database through Windows NT or through the database’s built-in security mechanism.
      • Authentication mode: When you publish a data source or a workbook with a live database connection, you can choose an Authentication mode. Which modes are available depends on what you choose above.
      • User filters: You can set filters in a workbook or data source that control which data a person sees in a published view, based on their Tableau Server login account.

Data Security

• 1. Re: Can I Control Admins Who Can Access A Data Connection and Workbook?
          Patrick A Van Der Hyde

Hello Mike,

I am going to move this thread to Server Administration for more help.  You mention that other administrators will have access.  Will they have Tableau Server admin privelages?

Patrick

• 2. Re: Can I Control Admins Who Can Access A Data Connection and Workbook?
            Mike Miller