1 2 Previous Next 20 Replies Latest reply on Feb 9, 2018 7:19 AM by Yuriy Fal

Emulating a Subquery

D Anderson

Hello, I am fairly new to Tableau and I have a problem that I think (hope) is relatively simple.

I have created a very simple example of the problem below and included this simple dataset in a packaged workbook for your convenience.

I am using Tableau version 10.4

I have a products table as follows

ProductsCustomer Ref
      BreadC
      CheeseA
      CheeseB
      ChocC
      ChocD
      FishA
      MeatE
      MilkB
      MilkC
      MilkD

From this I want to be able to filter on a product and show what other products those customers also purchased.

For example using the table above if I filtered on Milk I would expect

ProductsCount
      Bread1
      Cheese1
      Choc2

I would need to select multiple products so if I filtered on Milk and Cheese (asking the question what other products do people who purchase milk and cheese buy)

I would expect 

ProductsCount
      Bread1
      Choc2
      Fish1

I am really stuck as how to do this in Tableau. I would solve this problem in SQL using a subquery along the lines of

Declare @Product varchar(10)

SET @Product = 'Milk'

SELECT products,count(customer_ref) as counts

FROM   #prodTable

WHERE products NOT IN(@Product) AND

customer_ref IN

(SELECT prod_sub.customer_ref AS prod_sub_customer_ref

FROM  #prodTable AS prod_sub

WHERE  products IN ( @Product) 

GROUP  BY prod_sub.customer_ref)

GROUP  BY products

Output:

productscounts
      Bread     1
      Cheese    1
      Choc      2

In Tableau I originally thought I could solve this using a parameter but I can't seem to get round the problem of needing to filter on multiple products.

I had the most success creating two identical datasets joining them and doing a filter on one but I struggled to exclude the original filtered products.

Many thanks for looking at this - I am sure I have missed something simple and look forward to your responses