2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 8, 2018 1:18 PM by Mark Brentnall

How to Calculate Average of Aggregate Data

Mark Brentnall

Hi! I'm new to Tableau and this is my first time posting. I have searched and found some threads that answer similar questions (managing aggregate data appears to be a common challenge in Tableau), but I'm still struggling to implement the suggested solutions, so thought I'd reach out to the community...

In this example, I'm tracking the performance of a user who has performed 4 different exercises a certain number of times (the number of attempts, or sessions, can be variable for each exercise). The user is scored on 3 different metrics for each exercise (for example "Time to Complete", "# of Errors", "Style Points").

My worksheet displays the data for "User max score", "User min score" and User avg score" for each metric for each exercise aggregated over all attempts. For each metric, I would like to display a "total" that is the average over all 4 exercises of the aggregate values for max, min and avg scores.

Under the menu "Analysis -> Totals" I have selected to "Show Column Grand Totals" and I have selected "Total all using -> Average". But the averages are not what I expected. For example, if I look at "User max score" for "Metric 1", for the average I would expect (3.22+6.41+1.70+2.86)/4 = 3.54, but the Average calculation from "Totals" is showing 5.49. Even if I "weight" each of the exercise values by the number of sessions (attempts), I still get a different number than is reported. I'm confused over how Tableau is using the aggregate value to produce a column total.

I apologize ahead of time... due to the sensitivity of the data, I cannot share the packaged workbook without significantly modifying the data sources, so I hope the screenshot of my workbook pasted below and the description above is sufficient to request help...

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Mark

• 1. Re: How to Calculate Average of Aggregate Data