6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 8, 2018 8:34 AM by Toby Erkson

Unable to publish data source as an extract

John DeLap

I am new to Tableau and Tableau Server.  We have no one else here are our agency with experience, so I'm struggling. My intent is to create extract data sources on TS that would be refreshed periodically. I am trying to publish a simple data source to Tableau Server as an extract.  I am able to create the extract and save it locally.  When I publish it to TS, it reverts to a Live connection. How can I get it to publish as an extract?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Unable to publish data source as an extract
          David Nassif

Let me help, but I need to get the exact logic down.

What is the actual data source? If it's a manually created database, then you are manually creating a database and publishing it to Tableau Server, then you are using Tableau Desktop to link to that same Database as an Extract. Then, you are re-publishing the same thing to Tableau Server?

• 2. Re: Unable to publish data source as an extract
            parul bansal

1. To Refresh data Extract periodically - you need to  Schedule an Extract Refresh on Server itself.

2. Don't publish data source to Tableau Server*, publish Tableau workbook with extracted data. you can choose extracted data by choosing extract connection type under data source.

3. when you go to sheet, make sure under menu bar, choose data -> click Refresh all extracts  ( if you find all data source are in extract list) then it means your workbooks are referring to extracted data and then publish it.

Let me know if you find any issues troubleshooting

• 3. Re: Unable to publish data source as an extract
              John DeLap

Thank you for offering this.  I was indeed able to publish a workbook with an extract.