3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 10, 2017 6:42 AM by Tom W

Tableau Bridge & Online with on premise SQL database set up

Ed Yeldham

Hello,

I will start this thread by stating that I am not an IT professional but am trying to coordinate between Tableau and my 3rd party hardware support neither of who know anything about the other!

I'll bullet out my infrastructure and then my question

- Tableau desktop installed on my laptop which is operational during working hours usually on the network.

- MS SQL server installed on premise small business server.  Updated overnight from ERP system.  SQL database only "switched on" at night as during office hours draws too much load on server resources

- Tableau Online

- Tableau bridge installed on laptop.

- Have successfully published data source from desktop to cloud.

Issue

- Want to set up regular extract/sync updates overnight to publish data up to online from SQL.

- Tableau account manager helped set up but was working in Tableau Online and couldn't get connection back to database.  Assumption (after talking to HW support) is that SQL needs to be set to "allow" a 3rd party access.  This means that Firewall, router and ports need to be set to allow access = security risk.  Tableau Online is connecting in to pull data from database.

- I thought Bridge was supposed to be solution to this as would "push" data up to online from behind firewall. - issue though possibly as bridge on laptop which is not on network or operational during timeframe of extract update.  Having installed bridge Tableau support just kept going back to Online not bridge?!

Question

- How do I configure my set up or is my understanding not correct of how it all works?

- I don't expect anyone here to give me all the answer/set up but what do I need to be saying to Tableau and HW support to get this moving?

Help appreciated and bear in mind I'm at limit of my IT knowledge here!

Ed

• 1. Re: Tableau Bridge & Online with on premise SQL database set up