5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 1, 2017 6:32 PM by Jehyeon Heo

Please review/critique this viz.

Jehyeon Heo

Hello.

My name is Jehyeon Heo and I'm new at Tableau.

I learned data analysis about 4 months.

And It is about 2 weeks that I have learned and done Tableau from Udacity data analyst course.

I made a viz. The title is 'Some Insights Into The Contributions From Wisconsin For 2016 US Presidential Election'.

I caught a glimse of some stories in this community and I thought they were far greater mine...

Would you let me know what you noticed in the viz? And would you give me any idea or recommendation of the viz?

https://public.tableau.com/profile/jehyeonheo#!/vizhome/WisconsinContributionsStory1/Story1

I also uploaded the packaged file, too.

Thank you for reading.

• 1. Re: Please review/critique this viz.
          patrick.byrne.0

Hello Jehyeon,

I have a couple suggestions, but just like art, there is no right or wrong way to create visualizations. There are definitely preferred methods, but the actual design, implementation, and use of the Viz should be focused on what is attempting to be accomplished. Design the view for a goal in mind(the desired data story that we want to tell), know the audience, and be creative!

Creating a workbook that serves a particular purpose or meeting is a great place to start. Creating a one-stop shop experience in a Tableau Desktop workbook can lead to severe performance issues as well as cause confusion for the end user. We want to create visualizations that are simple, intuitive, and tell story.

For some additional information on the creation of Vizzes I would review the following information:

+ https://www.tableau.com/sites/default/files/media/whitepaper_visual-analysis-guidebook_0.pdf

+ Dashboard Best Practices