3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 17, 2018 2:16 PM by Alan Huddart

Calculating Skewness and Kurtosis for a distribution in Tableau as formula?

bhairav.mehta

I understand that summary report on Tableau creates Skewness and Kurtosis.

Is there a way to calculate Skewness and Kurtosis as calculated column using a formula?

Thanks

Bhairav Mehta

• 1. Re: Calculating Skewness and Kurtosis for a distribution in Tableau as formula?
          patrick.byrne.0

Hello Bhairav,

I believe this might be possible using the functions available in Tableau Desktop, thought I am not a statistical expert or a calculations expert. But, I did find the following information on the functions in Tableau Desktop

+ Functions

If you run into a particular issue trying to build the calculation, I would suggest posting what has been attempted as a packaged workbook, there is a better chance the community will be able to assist!

Happy analyzing and I hope this helps!

Cheers,

Byrne, Patrick

• 2. Re: Calculating Skewness and Kurtosis for a distribution in Tableau as formula?
            Alan Huddart

Hi Bhairav,

I managed to create my own version of Kurtosis just using calculated fields. This will replicate the KURT() function as used in Microsoft Excel.

Firstly, there is a FIXED calculation to get the COUNT of all records (not sure if it is possible to replace this calculation and put it into the following Kurtosis calculated field directly):

{FIXED:COUNT([Metric])}

Then this calculation should provide you with the Kurtosis figure:

(

((SUM([Count])*(SUM([Count])+1))

/

((SUM([Count])-1)*(SUM([Count])-2)*(SUM([Count])-3)))

SUM((([Metric] - {FIXED:AVG([Metric])})/{FIXED:STDEV([Metric])})^4)

)

-

((

(3*((SUM([Count])-1)^2)))

/

((SUM([Count])-2)*(SUM([Count])-3)

))