3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 11, 2017 1:13 PM by Bob Kraft

Index Table Calculation

Bob Kraft

I am new to Tableau. I am working through the online tutorials, books, and courses.  I have simple problem that I am trying to solve in Tableau.  I would like to Index records along a row.  At first, I thought this would be a trivial task but after trying a variety of Table Calculation and LOD calculations.  I am stumped.   I have attached a workbook to illustrate my problem.  I have two dimensions (patientvisit_id, entry). I have one measure (duration). 

PatientVisit_ID      Entry     Duration

A                             1              10

A                             2              20

A                             3              30

A                             4              40

B                             1              10

B                             2              20

B                             3              30

C                             1              10

C                             2              20

I would like to know how to create a cross tab that has an index of the patients displayed.    If I put Entry on the Columns shelf, PatientVisit_ID on the Row shelf, and Duration on the Marks shelf as Label.  I create a Calculated Field called Index with the Index() as the Calculation. Table calculation is Table Down.  I put this on the Row shelf after the PatientVisit ID. When I make PatientVisit_ID and Entry Discrete my table looks like this

PatientVisit_Id      Index

A                             1

B                             2

C                             3

with multiple columns showing the duration at various Entries. This is exactly what I want except that Entry must be continuous.  When you change the Entry to continuous the table now the rows look like this

PatientVisit_Id      Index

A                            1

B                            2

C                            1