6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2017 4:45 AM by Tim Dines

Tableau Embedded in iFrame Not Working As Expected

Tim Dines

I have created the dashboards located at the included address and sent the embed code to our web developer.  The Default view is set to Web Embedded at 800 x 800.  I have also defined layouts for all of the other devices with the exception of Nokia Lumia.  When viewing the dashboards on the smaller devices, especially phones, they look terrible.  They look nothing like the layouts that I defined before publishing.  Can someone tell me how to make this look good/correct in all of these environments?  I have only designed for large scale presentations in the past so I am no expert at this.  The URL is http://www.in.gov/recovery/1054.htm .  Any thoughts and help are greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Tableau Embedded in iFrame Not Working As Expected
          Matt Lutton

Its hard to say, as when we open/view the workbook, we cannot really see much as the data is not extracted for us to see/it asks for login info for your database.  It may be private data, so that may be by design but its hard to see the settings you've tried/used as a result. 

Have you tried a small device setting as a fixed size, then see how it scales to the other devices? Typically, using a FIXED size is better than automatic, since you can take a size that is defined as "small" and scale it up, but it is harder to do the opposite (scale down when Tableau uses all the space -- for that reason, the Automatic setting is not as useful as some would like).

I work at Tableau and live in Indianapolis - feel free to reach out via email at mlutton@tableau.com and I'll see if I can find a way to help out another local user!

• 2. Re: Tableau Embedded in iFrame Not Working As Expected
            Tim Dines