4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 26, 2017 11:46 AM by Eric Decker

Fixed Level of Detail by dimension over specific time period

Eric Decker

I’m new to fixed level of detail calculations, so I’m hoping there are some experts that can help with my problem.

I’m trying to isolate a sum of data over a specific 12 month period against a specific dimension so that I can call that sum and manipulate it through other table calculations. I want to use this historic sum and bounce it off current data so that I can apply targets for the coming fiscal year across various dimensions.

The problem is, I don’t think my Fixed level of detail table calc is doing the right thing. I know I probably need to include my date range in the fixed table calculation, but I’m unsure how to do that accurately.

Ultimately, the 3 month goals by product group should be as follows (And regardless of what 3 month rolling data I’m using, the goals for each product group should always be these numbers):

Group 1: 688

Group 2: 713

Group 3: 820

Group 4: 687

I’ve attached an example workbook that shows what I’m trying to get to with captions describing what’s going on.

I greatly appreciate your time and advice. Thanks in advance for any and all help!

• 1. Re: Fixed Level of Detail by dimension over specific time period
          Jim Dehner

Hi eric

I'm not certain what you are trying to do but your LOD expression is returning the values you want - see below text table

The fixed forumla is returning the 3059, 3171,3643, and 3053 values for the product groups - your 3 month formula takes those fixed values and returns the values you want

The way Fixed works is that it creates permutations of the dimensions that preceed the colon(:) and then aggregates them by the formula the follows the colon

so in words you formula says "for each product group take the sum of all the unit in the data base (regardles of date) and sum the unit values"