7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 18, 2017 2:40 PM by Jim Dehner

do not affect the avg line due to the category

Deniz Atcali

Hi,

I have a calculated field to calculate the satisfaction of the clients from the results of a survey and it is like that :

Satisfaction :

SUM(IF [Result] = '2' THEN

0.2 * [Number of Records]

ELSEIF  [Result] = '3' THEN

0.5* [Number of Records]

ELSEIF  [Result] = '4' THEN

0.8* [Number of Records]

ELSEIF  [Result] = '5' THEN

1* [Number of Records]

END)

/ SUM([Number of Records])

This is visualized as below changing by a category filter in the sheet :

satisfactionAvg.png

And I want the avg line to be stable when i change the category on the right. i tried to use LODs but couldn't fix it. as i am new to the tableau I will appreciate all of your help. thanks.

Deniz

• 1. Re: do not affect the avg line due to the category
          Jim Dehner

Good morning

I can't say that I understand your calcualtions but the formula below will give you a fixed line - 

{ FIXED

SUM(IF [Result] = 2 THEN

ELSEIF  [Result] = 3 THEN

0.5* [Number of Records]

ELSEIF  [Result] = 4 THEN

0.8* [Number of Records]

ELSEIF  [Result] = 5 THEN

1* [Number of Records]

END)

/ SUM([Number of Records])

)}

the result looks like this

I just put the formula on a refence line so that it went across the entire viz

Jim

If this posts assists in resolving the question, please mark it helpful or as the 'correct answer' if it resolves the question. This will help other users find the same answer/resolution.  Thank you.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: do not affect the avg line due to the category
            Deniz Atcali

Thanks Jim for your helpful reply,