5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 4, 2017 11:40 AM by Larry Staley

My US Map in Tableu NOT displaying correctly

Larry Staley

I am relatively new to Tableau and attempting to create a US Map showing three highest states (each year) and three lowest states (same year) by income in top 10% and in Bottom 90%.  I made data for years 2010 - 2012 and shown in attached xls file.  I was able to make the filter and have a filled in state map.  However, when I filtered for 2012 ONLY Vermont showed (corresponding to column called State6) but the other five states for New York, Colorado, California, Delaware, and North Dakota (representing State1 through State5 columns) are NOT being displayed on the map.

Need some help here so I can get all six displayed and for whatever year I filter.

I attached in addition to the XLS file the workbook for this map I described, called map.twb.

Thanks in advance.

L. Staley

September 1, 2017

• 1. Re: My US Map in Tableu NOT displaying correctly
          Jim Dehner

Hi Larry

See below

The reason you are having problems is that all your dimensions and measures are unique - they don't relate to one another -

Think of an excel sheet (a cell driven application) that has a separate column for each measure and each dimension - and some one asks what are the top and bottom 3 states - the answer is look in columns B through G

Tableau is a data base driven application where you are working with a an entire dimension at a time - you are trying to plot 6 dimensions at once but they are mutually exclusive

To correct that you can pivot the state 1 - state 6 columns around the rest of the data

open the data source

select the first state column and shift select the last column to highlight all six

right click a header and select pivot

you will have 2 columns - I changed the measure to "State Rank" (it will be your former header) and the Dimension to "6 State"