4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2017 8:57 AM by Larry Staley

How to construct a tree map with time series based data

Larry Staley

First, I am new to the Tableau Community and delighted to have joined.  I am relatively new to learning Tableau currently completing a class in Santa Clara, CA.

For my project I am using data based on one of the Makeover Monday studies, namely one from 2016, a study on Income Inequality in the United States. My data is essentially all year times series, some 60 years in a row of data starting in 1930s up to about 2012. For each year I have a wide variety of dimensions including Bottom 90% (by percentage share of wealth in US), Top 10% (by percentage share of wealth in US), Top 1% (by percentage share of wealth in US), Top 1% with offshore assets, Gini Coefficient (measure of wealth distribution in a nation), Per capita household income, savings rate (Bottom 90%), savings rate (Top 10%).

The construction of a tree map depends on categories and classifications (as is true with the Tableau Superstore template, for example, stationary category and subcategories of stationary items).

However, I am not sure the data I have is like that. Can the time series data I am using for my project still be applied to produce a tree map? Maybe there are some examples of producing tree maps from such time series based data, but I have researched and am not finding any. Maybe you can recommend for the kind of data I have, how to best approach a tree map, or maybe use some other related tool.

Thanks again for taking my inquiry.

Larry Staley

larrystaley07@comcast.net

• 1. Re: How to construct a tree map with time series based data
          Shaik H

Hi Larry,

Please find my approach

1) Changed your % Difference (based on previous year) calc to be:

(ZN(SUM([Population])) - LOOKUP(ZN(SUM([Population])), -1)) / ABS(LOOKUP(ZN(SUM([Population])), -1))

2) Set the Compute Using for this % Difference Calc appropriately:

PercentDiffCalc.png