7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 30, 2017 1:16 PM by Jim Dehner

Showing record that fall within a period of time - troubleshooting

Kiley Bijlani

Hi,

I am working on a vis to show open episodes over time. I found a great thread on this FAQ:  Open & Close Dates  and was able to develop a vis using this solution:

Showing Records That Fall Within a Period of Time | Tableau Software

The problem I am having is that this solution does not count partial weeks. For example if a client starts on 12/31/2016 and ends on 2/3/2017, I would like to see an open episode/contract for the weeks of :

12/25/2016

1/1/2017

1/8/2017

1/15/2017

1/22/2017

1/29/2017

2/5/2017

Instead the vis only shows an open episode on the full weeks:

1/1/2017

1/8/2017

1/15/2017

1/22/2017

1/29/2017

By removing the -1 from running date I can get the open episode/contract to start on the right date but it ends 2 weeks early.  I'm pretty new to Tableau and am having trouble figuring out how to expand the selection to include the partial weeks.

I have been using the sample data set from Showing Records That Fall Within a Period of Time | Tableau Software  with the following modifications to test:

ClientDateClosed Date
      A6/1/20169/5/2016
      B7/24/20164/2/2017
      C5/1/201610/20/2016
      D12/31/20162/3/2017
      E11/21/20166/2/2017
      F5/1/20168/12/2017
      G2/5/2017
      H8/15/2017

I also added a calculated date field that put's in Todays date +1 for null closed dates, so currently open episodes/contracts are counted.

Thanks for your help!

Kiley

• 1. Re: Showing record that fall within a period of time - troubleshooting
          Jim Dehner

Kiley

Please attache a workbook with data in a twbx format so we can see your calculations and how the dat is structured in your data source

Thanks

Jim

• 2. Re: Showing record that fall within a period of time - troubleshooting
            Kiley Bijlani

Hi Jim,