7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 17, 2017 6:50 PM by Isaac Briseno

Duplicates caused by joins

Isaac Briseno

Hello,

I have a spreadsheet that has 2 tabs at different levels of detail

- Tab 1: Detailed transactions per day

- Tab 2: Equity balance at the end of the day for each account

I'm trying to make a simple line chart of the sum of the equities of all the accounts, but the join is causing that the days that have transactions duplicate the data (screenshot below)

Is there any way to fix this? I'm new to Tableau so I'm not even sure in which direction to continue, maybe Blending? or using FIXED? or I got the joins wrong? or something else?

Additionally I have another sheet in the attached .twbx, so every time I try to fix my chart then the other one gets the data wrong

Thanks and Regards,

Isaac

duplicates.png

summaryGetsAffected.png

• 1. Re: Duplicates caused by joins
          Chris McClellan

Do you really need to join the data ?

And if you do, then SUM() will possibly give the wrong answer (especially in this case where you're joining a detailed dataset to a summarised dataset.

Check your join condition as well, with a full outer you're getting 50 records but with an inner you're getting 20 records.

If you really need to join (I"m not convinced yet ) and you need the data to be right, then usually a LOD calculated field will fix the problem.

• 2. Re: Duplicates caused by joins
            Isaac Briseno

Hi Chris,

I tried the inner join and as you mention the count goes from 50 to 20 records

But when using the inner join the chart only shows data for the days that have transactions instead the closing equity balance of each day of April

What is the alternative to the join? is it blending? or Tableau has something else?

Regards,

Isaac

aprilDays.png

• 3. Re: Duplicates caused by joins
              Chris McClellan

Isaac Briseno wrote: