7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 3, 2017 3:17 PM by Jim Dehner

How do I convert a column of data?

Danielle Anderson

I have 2 tables, that have no connection to each other.  The first contains 2 columns - a code, and a description. (for example: 1 and Description1 ; 2 and Description2; 3 and Description 3; etc)

In the second table, I have a column (that we will call 'Characteristics') that contains 1 to many codes, separated by commas. (for example:  1 ; 1,2,3 ; 3; etc) - the largest list I have in my table, to date, is 17 codes in the Characteristics field on a single record.

When I display the column 'Characteristics' in the text table, I want the Descriptions to appear (separated by commas), not the codes.

How do I do that?  Can you point me to the correct training video perhaps, or easily explain (I am new to tableau)?

Thank you.

• 1. Re: How do I convert a column of data?
          Jim Dehner

Hi Danielle

This is a little confusing -

If I have this right  you have a table with 2 columns the first are integers and the second is a text description

the second table is just a single column of integers separated by commas

based on your narrative I'm getting the sense that the integers in the first table do tie back to the integers in the second table - and you want the actual text to replace the integer numbers -

Couple of questions - in the second table what does each record represent - e.g. a customer, a product, a patient - ?

You say there is no connection from table 1 to table 2 but aren't the integer values related?

Tableau is fundamentally different than excel in that it is data base oriented - you work with dimensions and measures - dimensions classify and group data - measures are the actual values.  I would suggest you look at      Tableau Training and Tutorials

Jim

• 2. Re: How do I convert a column of data?
            Danielle Anderson

I am working with an oracle database.