7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 18, 2017 9:05 AM by Jim Dehner

Inventory costs and dimension editing

Zach Ferris

Hi, my name is Zack.

I'm relatively new to Tableau, I went through the training modules when I started using this software but now that I'm using it in a practical setting I'm finding myself hitting a wall.  So here we go:

If I filter a dimension, can I save it as a new dimension? I am uploading from an excel file and the column contains all of our product IDs. I would like to create separate lists of products to work with, how do I do this?

Thanks for any help!

• 1. Re: Inventory costs and dimension editing
          Zach Ferris

I accidentally clicked "Assumed Answered" please help!

• 2. Re: Inventory costs and dimension editing
            Jim Dehner

Hi Zach

I would like to understand better what your are trying to do with your workbook - could you attach it in a TWBX format that includes your data.

On the surface there would be no need to create a separate dimension of filtered product id's - you would just apply the filters the whatever sheet you are working on - that is unless I'm missing something

Also the product Id would be the most likely link that you would use to join or blend data from different sources so it would be part of each sheet anyway

If you goal on the other hand is to create a file similar to an Item Master in Oracle or SAP you would have a data source that was the Item Master data and link that to other data through a join on the product ID on each sheet

does that help

Jim

• 3. Re: Inventory costs and dimension editing
              Zach Ferris