3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 11, 2017 2:07 PM by Jay Morehart

SQL for beginners

Kyra Owensby

Hi, I'm new to Tableau and I'm currently using Tableau 10.3 to draft graphs for my office. However, when I try to mimic graphs from tableau public or you tube demonstrations I always get an error when trying to edit my Custom SQL. This has happened even when I've copied the given commands. The only time I was able to get one to work was when I used a workbook from tableau public, however another time it did not work (these were both older versions, I don't remember the exact numbers, but the one that worked was a version 9 and the one that didn't was a version 8).

Can anyone explain what is going on, or direct me to resources that will teach me how to create my own? This would be extremely helpful.

Thank you

• 1. Re: SQL for beginners
          Matt Lutton

Can you share an example/screenshots, or somehow show us a bit of what you're experiencing here? 

Are you inheriting workbooks that use a Custom SQL connection?  I am trying to understand why you are using Custom SQL in the first place, as it is generally a slower connection option versus connecting live to a data source:  Connecting Through Custom SQL Causes Slow Performance | Tableau Software

If I can better understand your needs, I will be happy to help.  Any details you can provide about what you are attempting to accomplish will be helpful -- thanks!

• 2. Re: SQL for beginners
            Kyra Owensby

SQL Error.jpg

Here is an example of what I mean. I used the same commands yet received an error.