1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Jun 24, 2017 1:50 PM by Timothy Grove

Where can I get HIPAA compliant Geocode?

Mike Lee

Hi everyone,

I am brand new at this.  I am working for a Health care company and just recently purchased Tableau.  We are trying to create a map with Tableau showing our patient population.  To do this, I need GPS coordinate for each patient, which requires HIPAA compliance.  What would be the best way to do this within HIPAA compliance?

Thank you in advance, everyone.

• 1. Re: Where can I get HIPAA compliant Geocode?
          Helene Matassa

Our health system has purchased a ESRI desktop license along with Streetmap for geocoding.  This was the best option to avoid the risk of sending PHI offsite.  I don't know that this was the best option but it seems to be working ok.  There seems to be some confusion around billing.  If anyone knows of a good alternative please share.

• 2. Re: Where can I get HIPAA compliant Geocode?
            Mike Lee

Thank you, Helene.  Does ESRI desktop provide latitude and longitude of an address?  Say if I had a list of patient address in Excel, can I get the GPS coordinate of each patient? 

• 3. Re: Where can I get HIPAA compliant Geocode?
              Mike Lee

Just to clarify my dilemma, I already have everything set up in Tableau map.  I am trying to add member information on the map showing each patient location on the map so the viewer can see each patient.  To do this, I need to have GPS coordinate of each patient, which I could get from Google Map.  The problem is that this would be HIPAA violation.  So in a nutshell, I need a way to get the GPS coordinates of a list of addresses without violating HIPAA. 

• 4. Re: Where can I get HIPAA compliant Geocode?
                Jonathan Drummey

Hi Mike,

Most likely you’ll have to pay a license for a geocoding data set since the free services don’t have the privacy guarantees.