7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 13, 2017 11:42 AM by Karthik Venkatachalam

Filtering by User's Domain

Rachel Furman

Hello,

I am fairly new to Tableau. I have a dimension called "Office" (sales, marketing, finance, etc.). There is a direct correlation between Office and a user's domain. I need to be able to look at the user's domain and only show data for that office in the worksheet. Certain domains should be able to see data for multiple offices (or all). Is there a way to accomplish this using the USERDOMAIN() function or otherwise?

Any assistance is appreciated!

Thanks,

Rachel

• 1. Re: Filtering by User's Domain
          Karthik Venkatachalam

Hi Rachel,

You would need to provide mapping between domain and offices somewhere.

One option is to add this mapping in a calculated field

CALC1:

IF userdomain() = 'xxxx' or userdomain() = 'yyyy' then 1

ELSE 0

END

Now add

CALC2:

IF CALC1 = 1 and (OFFICE = 'Cleveland' or OFFICE = 'Charleston') THEN 'Show'

ELSE 'Dont Show'

Drag CALC 2 into filter and show only 1 and you are done.

Another option is to add this mapping as a bridging table in the datasource. Join the field with a bridging table with inner join, which would filter out only the records they are supposed to see. This gives you flexibility in maintaining the mapping in a SQL table, instead of workbook.

Hope this helps.

• 2. Re: Filtering by User's Domain
            Ankit Goyal

Yes, Karthik's idea is workable.

• 3. Re: Filtering by User's Domain
              Rachel Furman

Karthik,

Thank you very much for your suggestion. I've been working with it and it works well although I'm not certain that it's flexible enough for my specific situation. Each time a user goes to the view, he/she should see the data for the office associated with his/her domain. It needs to be dynamic in that way. My apologies- I realize I didn't explain it well enough in my original post.

I've tried the following although I think it needs some tweaking.

Calc1