1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Jul 18, 2017 2:17 PM by Sarah Battersby

Beginner mapping questions - census visualizations and data overlay

Parv Aggarwal

Hi all,

Tableau newbie here. I am trying to look at financial services market capture of latino populations (as per 2010 census) in NC via census data visualization. I have followed Mark Evans' guide for importing census variable data and joining it to shapefiles via his WDC  (Tableau, Census Data, and Web Data Connectors – I Like Big Bytes  and http://ilikebigbytes.com/index.php/2016/09/07/mapping-census-tracts-in-tableau/ ) and successfully formed a color coded map of Hispanic or Latino populations in NC - see attached workbook. I would next like to  put our branch locations as points on the same map and use the radius selector tool to count/add up the latino populations in circles of any given radii from those branch points based on census tract centroids.

However, I am stuck on/struggling with:

- Making circles (e.g. 5-10 miles) around any arbitrary point shows a very inaccurate sum(hispanic or latino population), off by at least a factor of 1000 (in many cases exceeding the population of our state!) and I have no idea why this is... any insight / how to fix it?

- I made an excel of (branch, zip, lat, long) and am trying to display the branch locations to the same map but it says I must first create a relationship mapping the branch latitudes / longitudes to the "generated" ones in the census shapefile... I believe the generated ones are just endpoints of the tract polygons, so the equivalency wouldn't work... what should I create instead to get it to show? I'd like to show branches as labeled dots.