11 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2017 12:07 PM by Justin Larson

Joining Multiple Columns of Data

kyle.besley

Hi All,

I am currently conducting a mandatory anonymous survey with thousands of participants and importing the data into tableau using a WDC.  I have a master file of all of the surveys to be conducted on each particular place, etc.   I have questions within the survey asking this demographic data - with the assumption that I can join the information to the master list to understand how many are left to be completed (and which ones).

The survey platform I am using required that I split this demographic information into multiple, identical questions (which I used logic to direct participants to the correct set for them based on questions answered previously).  So for instance, I have one question asking which country and state they are in, and based on that they are taken to one of 10+ identical questions asking the participant to use a drop downs to indicate their city, company name, etc.  The issue I am running into now...is that I want to join the single master data list to 10+ of these columns within the data....is there a way to join based on calculated fields I created within tableau to consolidate the columns? Or any way to create a join calculation to do this?  Any help would be appreciated - keep in mind I have a WDC and require live data for this issue, so the 10+ columns are constantly being updated with new data (thus I can't export to excel and consolidate).  I have attached a very basic tableau workbook that I think illustrates the problem: trying to joing set 1,2,3 to the master file simultaneously

• 1. Re: Joining Multiple Columns of Data
          Justin Larson

Need clarification to approach an answer.

How many datasets are you looking at here?