1 2 Previous Next 23 Replies Latest reply on May 21, 2018 5:04 AM by Simon Runc

Amount of tickets every day

Juergen Reichert

Hi,

I'm new to Tableau and I have problems with my first visualisation.

I want to get the amount of open tickets each day (in January).

TicketOpenClose
      T103.01.201706.01.2017
      T205.01.201708.01.2017
      T315.01.201715.01.2017

The result should look like:

01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

Conditions

- I cannot prepare the data!

- I cannot use custom SQL (have to support different data sources including Excel, Text, Oracle, SQL Server, WebConnector, ... )

- all within Tableau

Using a scripting language and a chart library its done in minutes - But I cannot get it to work in Tableau.

I've seen the following related Knowledge base article, but I cannot get it work.

Showing Records That Fall Within a Period of Time | Tableau Software

Is there a working tbwx?

Any help would be highly appreciated!

• 1. Re: Amount of tickets every day

Hey Juergen,

Have you read through this thread?

Tickets Open and Closed

• 2. Re: Amount of tickets every day
            Juergen Reichert

Yes, I have looked into it, but it is a total different problem.

I need the count of the tickets for each day (even if not ticket was opened or closed at that day).

• 3. Re: Amount of tickets every day
              Juergen Reichert

Is there nobody who know an answer?

I thinks that is a really standard type a common problem.

Tableau Support Team - Would you please answer?

• 4. Re: Amount of tickets every day
                Toby Erkson

Juergen,