2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 11, 2017 7:54 PM by Michael Dreimiller

Mapping start and end dates from two data sets

Michael Dreimiller

I'm relatively new at Tableau. I'm running v10.2. I'm trying to map two data sets. The first is a list of areas of study (topic) at the college where I work from the beginning of the college to present. A topic can start as a minor/certificate program and change to a major or vice versa, and it can stop being offered and then resume. So question number one is how to best organize the data. Currently I have it like this:

Topic          Status         StartDate   EndDate

English       Major          1911          2017

CS              Minor          1985          1995

CS              Major          1996          2017

Education   Minor          1950          1960

Education   Minor          1965          1970

Education   Major          1971          2008

Education   Minor          2009          2017

I think I'd like to display that data so that each topic is a horizontal bar that changes color depending on the Status (green for major, red for minor, no color when neither a major or minor)  and the x axis is the date range from 1911 to present. All the topics would be displayed on one chart. So, using the example data above, the Education bar would be red from 1950-1960, blank from 1960-1965, red again from 1965 to 1970, and green from 1971 to present. English would be a solid green bar from 1911 to present. CS would start as red in 1985, change to green in 1996 through present.

Question #1: Is this the best way to organize the data to do this?

Question #2: What would I do in Tableau to generate this visualization?

The next part is a similar data set, but its simpler. It just tracks the start and end dates for different buildings on campus. So that data sets looks like this:

Building      StartDate  EndDate

Olin            1930          2017

Cummings 1970          2010