2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2017 10:28 AM by hoi-li.wongsvedberg

Migration chart by notch

hoi-li.wongsvedberg

Hi, I am new to Tableau, and I have a large dataset which I would like to compare rating migration of each customer from one period to another, and plot a bar chart which shows the number of customers per "notch change". I could calculate the "notch changes" per customer, but I don't know how I should group them (by "notch changes") and count the number of customer per industry and display the result in a bar chart. Please assist. Thanks in advance!

*Attached please find the data example and what I want to achieve*

• 1. Re: Migration chart by notch
          Patrick A. Van Der Hyde

Hello Hoi-Li

Thank you for sharing the excel spreadsheet with the detailed information.

Tableau can be used to build the views but you will need some understanding of Table Calculations so I suggest checking out the online learning and various resources for this feature.

In the attached workbook, I have created a data view which shows the layout of the datat (note that I have taken the example excel sheet and defined hard values from your random ones so that things would not change and we could compare the results to the original data.  My data is different than your original data examples though.  The excel sheet is embedded in the attached .twbx file for your review.

The Data view also contains the field "Difference is values which was originally created by using the drop down menu of Sum(Rating) and selecting Quick Table Calculation - Difference.  I then modify the calculation with the edit Table Calculation feature to utilize the specific Dimension of Month of Date while keeping Customer and Industry as unselected.  As long as these fields are included in the following views and no additional Dimensions are added, we should retain the values.