4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 24, 2017 1:07 PM by Jay Morehart

Subtract one Data Source from Another

Christopher Smith

Hello,

I am new to Tableau and am using Tableau Public.  I have tried to find a solution through searching the forums and online tutorials, but have had no luck.  I'm sorry if this is just something I've missed!

I am currently working with two data sets.  SetA includes total sales by date.  SetB includes total sales in some specific channels by date.  I would like to use this data to come up with a currently non-existing data set, SetC, that is the difference between SetA and SetB to give the remaining sales in channels not covered in SetB.  Is this possible?

Thanks in advance for your assistance!

Data looks something like:

SetA

DateUnits
      RevenueChannel
      01/01/175$500Total
      01/02/177$850Total

SetB

DateUnits
      RevenueChannel
      01/01/172$100Web
      01/02/171$250Web
      01/01/171$50Mail
      01/02/172$120Mail

SetC

DateUnits
      RevenueChannel
      01/01/172$350Direct
      01/02/174$480Direct
        • 1. Re: Subtract one Data Source from Another
          HUSSAIN SHAIK

Hi Christopher,

You can probably use Blending to subtract data in Tableau.attached workbook with demonstration

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Subtract one Data Source from Another
            Christopher Smith

Hi Hussain,

Thanks for sending this.  Unfortunately, I cannot open it since it is not in Tableau Public.  Is there any way you can either upload it to Tableau Public or briefly describe your technique?

Thanks again!
            Chris

• 3. Re: Subtract one Data Source from Another
              Brian Connelly

Christopher,