3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 30, 2017 3:54 PM by Philip Perrin

Filters: only want customer to see a couple of measures

Ashlee Cerda

Hi All,

I am currently trying to figure out how to provide a customer with a dashboard view of their data that will allow them to play with their measures and compare different groups. However, in my measure columns I have about 25 different measures but I want them to only see a few measures at a time so that they are picking measures that make sense and not messing up the way their data looks. I tried hiding the least important measures but I can't hide them all otherwise it won't work for other tables I have created.  I tried using parameters as a filter but it didn't make sense to me...

Could someone help me out if they have any suggestions?!

I work in healthcare so can't include a workbook without sending PHI data unfortunately

Thanks,

Ashlee

• 1. Re: Filters: only want customer to see a couple of measures
          Philip Perrin

A couple things came to mind on this -

Option 1a (bad) : Separate workbooks. Make a few copies of your workbook so that each one contains only the views and selected dimensions your client should be playing with.

Option 1b (not-as-bad) : Use folders for your dimensions. Place X,Y, and Z in a folder called "View 1" and then dimensions A,B, and C in a folder called "View 2".

Option 2 (ideal): Review this link http://onlinehelp.tableau.com/current/pro/desktop/en-us/help.htm#changing-views-using-parameters.html  - and use parameters to allow your client to self select from a curated list of dimensions that you want them to play with on a particular view. I wouldn't suggest allowing a client have access to the whole list of dimensions that they could misinterpret.

Hope that helps - let me know if you run into any issues using the suggested solution!

Phil

• 2. Re: Filters: only want customer to see a couple of measures
            Ashlee Cerda

Thanks Phil!