1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 19, 2017 9:30 AM by David Li

dashboards, containers, do worksheets automatically get put into one

gene shackman

When I create a dashboard, I drag some worksheets into it. Now I am just learning about containers (something I did not learn about in any classes). When I click on layout, I see that all of my sheets are in some kind of container, either vertical, horizontal, or are tiled. I did not create any containers when I started my dashboard. Here are my questions:

1. Does Tableau automatically put every worksheet into a container?

2. What's the relationship between tiled and containers?

3. If I don't set up containers at the start of the dashboard, but just start dragging worksheets in, how do I control what kind of container it goes into?

4. Best websites to learn (and tell my co-workers) about containers, for folks, like me, who know almost nothing about containers.

I found a few

Resize and Lay Out Your Dashboard

and

LAYOUT CONTAINERS IN TABLEAU ~ BFONGDATA

and

Tableau Layout Containers: Part 1 - The basics - YouTube

Thanks

• 1. Re: dashboards, containers, do worksheets automatically get put into one
          David Li

Hi Gene! Here are some answers:

1. If a worksheet/element is docked ("tiled"), then it must be inside a container. If it's floating, it does not have to be within a container. However, note that you can float containers, so you could choose to dock a sheet inside a floating container.